Subusers and Sharing

Sharing is the process of giving a subuser rights to information and privileges regarding fleets, teams, marker categories, reports, or hierarchy nodes. There are two basic ways that these items can be shared with subusers, depending on whether the item is public or private.
 

Public items are generally available to all subusers with sufficient rights. These rights can be granted to roles (which are then assigned to users), or they can be assigned directly in the user dialog box. Creating a public item is called public sharing.
Private items are available only to the user that created them. The user can optionally share these items on a case-by-case basis with other users. These rights are granted by editing the private item. Extending these rights to an individual subuser is called private sharing.

Typically, public sharing is used for granting rights to employees who work on a regular basis with items, while private sharing is for special cases, such as sharing the right to view all vehicles that make pickups or deliveries to a customer site with that customer.

You can combine public sharing with private sharing. For example, you can publicly share viewing rights to all the fleets in the system with an employee, then privately share edit privileges to a particular vehicle.

Whether you are sharing at the private or public level, you can control which rights a subuser has to shared items. For collections, these rights are divided into item rights (rights to work with the collection) and member rights (rights to work with the items in the collection). When an individual vehicle, driver, or marker belongs to more than one fleet, team, or category, a user's member rights to that to that vehicle, driver, or marker are determined by the fleet, team, or category that grants them the most privileges.

Item

Public or Private?

Fleets

When created using the Fleets & Teams screen, fleets are private unless explicitly designated as public. Public fleets defined in this way are shared with every subuser of the account that has been granted rights for seeing or working with fleets.

Every node in the hierarchy implicitly defines a fleet with the same name as the node. Rights to these fleets are shared as hierarchy or hierarchy item rights.

Teams

When created using the Fleets & Teams screen, teams are private unless explicitly designated as public. Public teams defined in this way are shared with every subuser of the account that has been granted rights for seeing or working with teams.

Every node in the hierarchy implicitly defines a team with the same name as the node. Rights to these teams are shared as hierarchy or hierarchy item rights.

Categories

Marker categories are private unless explicitly designated as public.

Reports

All saved reports are private unless explicitly designated as public.

Hierarchy

The hierarchy is always public, but only in the sense that a user assigned to a hierarchy node has public rights to all of its child nodes.

Hierarchy items

The subusers assigned to nodes in the hierarchy and the fleets and teams implicitly defined by hierarchy nodes are always public, but only in the sense that a user assigned to a hierarchy node has public rights to users, vehicles, and drivers assigned to its child nodes or unassigned nodes. Subusers cannot see items assigned to parent nodes or nodes on other branches of the hierarchy.