Working with a Co-Driver

Support for the co-driver option must be enabled by your administrator, for your account and all your co-drivers' accounts.

A co-driver is a driver who takes turns driving the same vehicle with you. Only one driver can be assigned to a vehicle at a time. This is the current driver. If you are using Hours of Service, any HOS event data generated is assigned to the current driver. This includes HOS status information, mileage driven, and any violations, diagnostic events, or malfunctions.

All co-drivers must sign in before the vehicle starts moving and sign out after the engine has been turned off. For instructions on how to manage co-drivers, see the following topics:

Signing in a New Co-Driver
Signing out a Co-Driver
Switching Driver

Even if you are not currently driving, you can still access your WorkPlan account to view information on HOS or jobs, or to fill in forms or inspection reports. See Switching User for instruction on how to switch from one WorkPlan user to another, while someone else is the current driver.

If an HOS driving event has been allocated to the wrong co-driver, you can re-assign the driving event to the correct co-driver. For details see Reassigning Driving Events Between Co-Drivers.

If you are using WorkPlan as an ELD, all co-drivers must sign in to WorkPlan prior to the vehicle starting motion.

If you are using the trailer functionality, any trailers that one co-driver adds or removes are automatically added or removed for the remaining co-drivers. For example:

 

If you add 2 trailers, your co-driver will see these 2 trailers in their trailers list.
If your co-driver removes a trailer, the trailer is removed from your trailers list too.

Before signing out, you or one of your co-drivers must remove all trailers that you were using. When the last user signs out and there are trailers still assigned, the user will see a notification.

Signing in a New Co-Driver

To sign in a new co-driver:

1.From the WorkPlan Home screen, tap the User icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
2.Select Manage Users.
3.On the Manage Users screen, tap Add Driver. You may add up to six co-drivers.
 

 
4.Enter the new co-driver's credentials, and tap Sign In.
 

Switching Driver

To switch from one co-driver to another:

1.Ensure that the vehicle is stationary and the current driver is not in Driving status.
2.From the WorkPlan Home screen, tap the User icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
3.Select Manage Users.
4.The Manage Users screen lists all users that are currently signed in as co-drivers. The current driver is the user who is currently assigned to the vehicle. The user's current HOS status is shown underneath the name.
 

 
5.Tap the menu button to the right of the new co-driver, and select Set as Current Driver.
 

 
6.The current driver is switched to the co-driver. Depending on how the co-driver’s account is configured, he or she might be prompted to input an event type and note, or shipment information.

You can also access the Manage Users screen from the HOS Status screen, by tapping the co-driver icon in the lower left corner of the screen.

Switching User

To switch the WorkPlan user without switching driver:

1.From the WorkPlan Home screen, tap the User icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
2.Select Manage Users.
 

 
3.Tap the name of the user, or tap the menu button to the right of the user's name and select Set as Active User.
4.As the active user, you see your own jobs, forms, and HOS data. HOS data that is generated while you are the active user and someone else is the current driver is recorded against the current driver.

You can also access the Manage Users screen from the HOS Status screen, by tapping the co-driver icon in the lower left corner of the screen.

Reassigning Driving Events Between Co-Drivers

If a driving event has been allocated to the wrong co-driver, you can re-assign the driving event to the correct co-driver. This situation could occur, for example, if the wrong co-driver was assigned to the vehicle at the time.

To reassign a driving event:

1.Go to the Event List screen.
2.Tap the driving event you want to reassign.
 

 
3.Scroll down to the bottom of the list and check that there was a co-driver associated with this event. This is the driver that you want to assign the event to.
 

 
4.Tap Edit in the upper right corner of the screen.
5.Tap Assign Event to Co-Driver.
 

 
6.Check that the co-driver is correct. If there is more than one co-driver, select the appropriate username. Enter a mandatory comment and the co-driver's password.
 

 
7.Tap Assign Event in the lower part of the screen.

Signing Out a Co-Driver

To sign out if you are the active WorkPlan user:

1.From the WorkPlan Home screen, tap the User icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
2.Select Log Out.

To sign out another co-driver:

1.From the WorkPlan Home screen, tap the User icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
2.Select Manage Users.
3.Tap the menu button to the right of the co-driver and select Log Out.
 

You can also access the Manage Users screen from the HOS Status screen, by tapping the co-driver icon in the lower left corner of the screen.