Configuring Real-Time Job Warnings

This feature is only available in accounts that include Verizon Connect® Response™. Contact support to purchase a subscription.

Real-time (also know as 'actual', as opposed to 'planning') job warnings are shown as orange or red circles above jobs when you have configured timelines to color jobs by status, or as the job icon color when jobs are colored by violation. The circles are also shown when jobs with violations are viewed on the map, as small circles in the upper right corner of the job location circle marker. A red circle or job icon indicates that the alert is critical, while an orange circle or icon indicates that it is non-critical. The severity that each warning is assigned can be edited as required, or even disabled entirely, preventing a notification if a real-time job alert is triggered.

Hover your mouse over a job showing a red or orange warning on a timeline or the map and the type of warning is shown on the balloon that appears. Planning warnings generated by Dispatch are shown to the left, while real-time alerts generated by Verizon Connect® Response™ are shown to the right. For example:

These warnings are only shown for jobs that were started in the past, whether currently underway, or scheduled to have been completed in the past. Alert types that may be shown are:

Warning Type

Description

Vehicle went off route

A vehicle has traveled outside the deviation threshold configured for its route. This threshold is typically 5 miles or more from the anticipated route.

Job was started late

A vehicle has arrived at a scheduled job later than its "latest arrival time". This time value is used to indicate how late the vehicle can be before the driver is considered late to the job. The alert goes off when the job is completed.

Job completed out of order

A vehicle has arrived at a job before completing a different job scheduled for completion earlier. Typically this alert is generated when a driver misses a job then returns to it later. Any job that is marked with a status of 'Completed' before a job scheduled earlier in the route will be marked as 'Wrong Order'. This alert is never turned off.

Overlapping jobs have been adjusted

A vehicle has traveled to two job sites that overlap (that is, a vehicle has arrived at a job site without first departing the previous job site). Vehicles are only permitted to be on-site at a single job, so the time on site for these jobs has been recalculated to reflect the relative time on site of each, and to prevent overlap. This adjustment is calculated only after the route has been completed.

Vehicle idled at job

A vehicle has idled at the scheduled job site for less than ten minutes, or has completed the job without stopping (that is, without turning off the vehicle ignition).

Running late for planned arrival

A vehicle has not yet arrived at a scheduled job, and the time available to get to the job is greater than that required to arrive before its "planned arrival time". The alert goes off when the job is not yet completed, and once completed is changed to "Late". This warning is only shown if your account includes an ETA subscription.

Running late for latest arrival

A vehicle has not yet arrived at a scheduled job, and the time available to get to the job is greater than that required to arrive before its "latest arrival time". The alert goes off when the job is not yet completed, and once completed is changed to "Late". This warning is only shown if your account includes an ETA subscription.

Job was missed

A vehicle has missed a scheduled job. This warning is triggered when a job has an 'Assigned' status; the current time is later than the missed job's "planned arrival time"; and a job on the same route with a later "planned arrival time" has updated its status to "Completed". This warning can occur after the route is completed, or while the route is underway. If the warning is triggered while a route is underway, and the vehicle later returns to the job site before the route is completed (completing the job at the end of the route, for example), this warning is canceled and a 'Wrong Order' warning generated instead.

To edit the priority of these warnings, or to specify no alert for specific real-time job warning type, follow the instructions below:

1.Click the logged account name in the upper right corner of the Verizon Connect platform interface to open the settings menu:

 
2.Click the Settings button. The Settings dialog box opens:

 
3.Select the Jobs & Routes tab on the left menu:

 
4.Scroll down to the Real Time Job Alerts section and then open the drop-down menus beside each real-time alert you want to change. Choose Critical, Major or Hide. Any alerts you specify as Critical are highlighted with a red circle icon on the Daily Routes and Route Timeline panels and the map. Any alerts that are specified as Major are highlighted in orange, and are treated as non-critical. Select Hide to hide alerts of this type from being shown over job icons, in the 'Violations' columns, or in the Violations dialog box.
5.Click Save, and then log out of Verizon Connect® Dispatch™ and back in again. Any changes made to the priority of warnings in the previous steps will not be recognized until you have logged out, and then back into the system.