Downloading New and Updated Map Data

After you install and sign in to the app, you can use offboard maps immediately. These maps are stored on Verizon Connect servers and require an internet connection to access. Alternatively, you can use the Map Data feature to download and save maps to your device so that you can get directions even when you are offline.

After the initial download, use the Refresh feature to check for map changes and updates released by Verizon Connect. Checking for updates ensures that you have the most up-to-date truck and road network data available on your device.

 

On devices with SD card support, you can choose to download your map data from an SD card. Contact Verizon Connect support if you want to use this feature.

 

You must be connected to a WiFi network to download or update your map data.

Depending on your connection speed, downloading and updating maps can take a significant amount of time. If you need to download or update a map, we recommend beginning that process at least several hours before you need to use the data.

When you download or update a map, you can pause, resume, or cancel the download, if needed, by using the links available on the Download page for the particular map data. To go there, tap on Map Data > continent or data group name > map data you are downloading.

Downloading and Installing Map Data

1.Tap the Menu icon , then tap Map Data.
2.On the All Maps tab, tap the appropriate continent or data group and then the map region or map type you want to use.
3.Do one of the following to start the download:
oTap the Download icon next to the map region.
oTap the name of the map data to open its Download screen, then tap Download Data.


 

4.The amount of time it takes to download this data varies, and depends on the size of the map data you selected and your download speed. You can check the status of the download on the Download page for the map data (tap on the map data you are downloading).

When downloading map data for the map region you want, the All Maps tab may show that data for other regions is being downloaded at the same time. This is because, in some cases, the map data you are downloading includes small Signage and Junction View updates for other map regions.

 

5.When the download completes, the map data is automatically installed when you next visit the Map Data page.
6.A check mark is displayed next to the map data on the Map Data page when the download and installation is complete.

Updating Map Data

Periodically you should check for any updates that have been released for the maps on your device. If updates are available, the app displays on-screen instructions to download and install them.

The update process calculates the available storage on your device.  If there is enough space, the update process retains the existing map data until the update completes so that you can continue using the maps. If space is limited, you might need to delete some map data before you can download the updates.

Follow these steps to check for updates and download them to your device

1.Tap the Menu icon , then tap Map Data.
2.Tap the Refresh icon to check for updates.
3.Tap on the continent or data group name. Each map region or other map data that you have installed on your device is refreshed to note if any updates are available.
4.If updates are available, you can download all updates by tapping the link to Download All Updates, or you can choose which data to download by tapping the Download icon next to the map region or other map data you want to update.
5.On the updated Map Data screen, view the available updates, tap a map data set entry to view download details, and download the data.

Viewing Map Data Available on Your Device

1.Tap the Menu icon , then tap Map Data.
2.Tap the On This Device tab.
3.This page lists each map that is currently installed on the device.

You can also view installed map data from the Settings menu by tapping the Menu icon > Settings.

Deleting a Map

1.Tap the Menu icon , then tap Map Data.
2.Tap the appropriate continent or data group name.
3.Find the map data you want to delete, and tap to select it.
4.Tap Delete Data to remove all data for that map.

Receiving Road Edits

Occasionally, Verizon Connect might make road edits to close or open particular road segments. Changes like this are automatically uploaded to your device if a WiFi or cellular connection is available.

When routing to a destination, the changes to the road segment are taken into consideration. For example, the road segment is avoided, if the segment has changed to be closed.

To check if a road edit file is on your device, tap the Menu icon , then tap Settings. If a road edit file has been added, it is listed in the lower part of the screen.